Support / FAQs / About techtown

Home Forums TROUBLESHOOTING

• TROUBLESHOOTING

Posted by guest on December 22, 2017 at 12:00 am

I was just thinking of some of the scenarios which I’ve been in while troubleshooting electrical equipment.

More often than not, my need for access to TWO test points in a circuit is restricted in some way. 

• Whether it’s because of being somehow blocked by the unit’s enclosure,
    • whether it’s because my test leads simply won’t reach the test points,
    • whether it’s due to the type of connections that are used in the circuit…
    • or whether it’s because I’m NOT really good at standing on ONLY my head while using my hands to maneuver the test leads…with the meter awkwardly sitting sideways in the only possible place I could put it…while trying to avoid knocking it off…and while trying to see it.

Of course, in the last scenario, THAT would generally ALSO include the exact moment when some duffus in the kitchen decides to drop a pan on the floor – at THE VERY MOMENT that I’m making contact with my circuit’s test points for a crucial voltage reading in a 480v circuit.

INDEED, some equipment is obviously designed by engineers who offered absolutely NO thought to the fact that their equipment WILL fail at some point. 

I’ll spare you of the wretched thoughts I have towards engineers.

Many technicians will find these austere situations as a discouragement and therefore take some alternate approach (or just make an assumption) that may lead to an improper diagnosis. I’ve seen this play out time and time again.  In those situations, ultimately some new part gets ordered, lengthy downtime ensues (while awaiting the part), the new part gets received & installed…and then the unit STILL doesn’t work.