Support / FAQs / About techtown

Home Forums The Hot Side Salvis induction rewire from 230V to 400V

Tagged: 

• Salvis induction rewire from 230V to 400V

Posted by coffeegeek on May 13, 2020 at 6:59 am

Hello! We have a Salvis aki1 (dual induction, 230V, 10kW). We’re moving and have only 400V. Is it possible to rewire this?

coffeegeek replied 3 years, 11 months ago 3 Members · 12 Replies
  • 12 Replies
  • ectofix

May 13, 2020 at 8:18 am

I have over forty years of experience repairing electrical equipment and over twenty of those repairing virtually everything in a commercial kitchen. Even still, I haven’t ever repaired induction cooking and warming equipment. WHY? Because every manufacturer of those will tell you to send it to THEM. They’ll offer NO tech support, NO schematic and NO part support.

I get that because there’s simply too much going on in there that is NOT field serviceable.

In one of your photos is the unit’s specification sticker. On it states that its electrical power source should be 230v, 50Hz, 3phase and capable of a 10kw load.

That’s it. That’s how that unit is listed and how it was certified. Attempting to change any of that will negate its certification and may also make it a safety hazard.

SO…NO. The unit cannot be rewired for 400v.

I suggest you contact Salvis for further clarification:

Contact Salvis

• coffeegeek

May 13, 2020 at 8:53 am

Hi Ectofix. I agree…. but for example the Bear Varimixer also states the same, 230V printed on the name plate, but internally it can be rewired to 400V (and I did and it runs beautifully). Of course, only being a motor, this was a simple delta/star modification.

• ectofix

May 13, 2020 at 10:22 am

Right. That and possibly a main transformer in the mixer that’d need to be restrapped.

——————–

With that 50Hz rating, you’re obviously not in the U.S. or Canada. I don’t have any experience with 230v line-to-neutral sources in Europe and elsewhere, so had to look that up and think about it.