Support / FAQs / About techtown

How to Get Your EPA 608 Refrigerant Certification

shutterstock 1675626439

In any field of this modern life, to get expertise in any field and to show you are skilled enough, a license is needed. A person having a license shows that one has enough skills and expertise in that field. So, it must also have a license for HVAC technicians to perform the maintenance, repairing or any service in which they need to use the regulated refrigerant.

This article will discuss all the details of the EPA 608 Refrigerant Certification to help you know about it and get this certification to work with expertise to get more success.

What is EPA Refrigerant Certification?

For HVAC technicians who have to use the regulated refrigerant, the federal government authorizes the EPA 608 certifications. Having this certificate, expertise in their skills and knowledge, leads them to become successful HVAC technicians. The EPA certificate works like the key to success for the technicians in their career who use the regulated refrigerant to perform any maintenance and repair of any appliance.

Why is EPA Refrigerant Certification Important?

Technicians use chemicals such as Chlorofluorocarbon, Hydrochlorofluorocarbon and Halons for repairing appliances. These chemicals are one of the main causes of the ozone layer depletion. 

In this case, the federal government has decided to protect the ozone layer by mandating the EPA Refrigerant certification. This action was needed because any HVAC technician could easily use the regulated refrigerant in repairing or maintaining any appliance. 

The mandate of these certifications of the federal Clean Air Act with the section of 608 was passed in 1970. It was implemented later in 1993 to take precautions and prevent the environment from harmful chemicals. After this addition of section 608, the mandate of the EPA Refrigerant Certifications is a must for those HVAC technicians who have to use the regulated refrigerant in performing their technology works.

These certifications allow you to select four types; you can get certified in any of the types according to your skills and knowledge. These certifications are essential to have for those who want to upgrade their careers and command this skill.

EPA Refrigerant Certification Exam

Core Section of the EPA Exam

To get certified in the EPA 608 certifications, you need to pass the core section of the EPA exam before. This core section of the EPA exam involves the below details:

  • Exhaustion of Ozone layer.
  • Clean Air Act with the section of 608 settlements.
  • Relief in refrigerants and other chemicals.
  • 3R factors; Recover, Recycle, Reclaim.
  • Techniques & Tricks of recovery
  • Security and Transportation.

4 Types of EPA 608 Certifications Exam

The EPA Certifications come in four types for the HVAC technicians. After passing the core section of the EPA exam, HVAC technicians can choose any type from all the four types that match their skill and knowledge. The four types of EPA Certifications are discussed briefly below.

Type I EPA Refrigerant Certification Exam

Type I certification of license allows the technicians to repair, maintain the small appliances. This type of exam covers the area of protection and the recovery of requirements and techniques.

The recovery or repairing of the small appliances included:

  • The clearing condition with or without the functioning compressors
  • Must have the knowledge of the temperature and the pressure to use the regulated refrigerants while fixing any issue.
  • Should be aware of the values of recovery about the high and low-sided access.
  • Solderless fitting of the elements, refrigerant's disintegration products.
Exam Pattern

This exam is like an open-book exam that covers the subjects of safety and recovery-related information. In this type of exam, after clearing the core section of the EPA exam, a candidate has to answer 21 questions out of 25 questions to clear the exam.

Type II EPA Refrigerant Certification Exam 

Type II exam is mandated for the professionals for the jobs. This certification is needed for those technicians who have to work on appliances which are having high-pressure systems. This certification or license does not show the skills to repair, service, or maintain small appliances. This type of certification is an ideal that is highly focused on the recovery of leakage systems. 

It is beneficial for the professional HVAC technicians who have to perform tasks in the below subjects:

  • Enables the technicians to check and maintain the leakage issues in a system efficiently.
  • It has the efficiency to control on a commercial level more than 50 pounds of refrigerant annually.
  • Experts technicians in the recovery of requirements and techniques.
  • Introduces the methods of controlling the emission during the process of recovery.
  • Recognition of the main elements of the high-pressure mode.
  • Methods of performing the tests of temperature and pressure in a system.
Exam Pattern

In this type of EPA Exam, a candidate will have to answer 21 questions out of 25 questions on the above-discussed topics.

Type III EPA Refrigerant Certification Exam

Type III EPA Exam involves the low-pressure systems. In these exams, you have to get expertise in commanding servicing appliances with low-pressure systems. A candidate should prepare for this type of exam on the following topics:

  • Leakage indications.
  • Centrifugal chillers test pressure for the leak system.
  • Conditions of discharge.
  • Methods & Techniques to identify the leaking in a system.
  • Should have enough knowledge about the nitrogen chemical.
Exam Pattern

For the Type III EPA Exam, there will be 25 questions of the total from which a candidate has to answer 21 questions.

Type IV EPA Refrigerant Certification – Universal

Once you have successfully completed the above three types of exams of EPA Refrigerant Certification and be proficient with the recovery and repair techniques, you are eligible to get the universal certificate. 

Exam Pattern

In the final comprehensive type of EPA Refrigerant Certification, a candidate will have 100 questions to answer. These 100 questions will be from all topics of Type I, Type II, and Type III EPA Refrigerant Exam. 

Preparation Guide of EPA Refrigerant Certification

Suppose you are a new one in this field or an HVAC technician who wants to upgrade his expertise in his career. In that case, you can get the EPA Refrigerant Certifications by clearing the exams. These certificates allow four types of certifications. A one can choose any of them according to his skills and knowledge of interest. Once you have chosen any exam, it is not much difficult to prepare yourself for it.

While doing preparation, there will be no need for heavy textbooks, assignments, or physical classes to attend. You can prepare for any of the four types of this exam on your own. You need to get information and to learn about all of the discussed topics above. You can approach any source on the internet to prepare yourself for this exam. 

You can prepare yourself by watching and listening to the lectures on your laptop, PC, or even your smartphone. You need to be aware and know the above topics before going to attempt the EPA exam. There are helpful online resources that allow you to take practice tests, like this one from

Once you've done all the preparation related to all the above-discussed topics and are considering yourself ready, you can participate in the EPA Exam to get the certification. You can participate in this exam by enrolling yourself for the EPA exam. On the given date, you need to participate in the exam to clear it. Once you pass this exam, there will be no barrier preventing you from getting EPA Refrigerant Certifications.