Support / FAQs / About techtown

Home Forums how long does it take to rebuild a waste king model -2000-3

• ectofix

May 15, 2018 at 5:17 pm

Five hours and thirty-seven minutes…plus or minus a few hours.

That’s me being facetious.  Your question is relative, so it can’t be answered as you’d like it to be. 

As a field tech, I (and my company) quit rebuilding garbage disposals because…well – we charged by the hour.  There was no standard rate.  As such, there were too many times when our final cost to a customer was too costly to justify doing it AGAIN – when all we would warranty AFTER the repair was the industry standard 30 days labor/90 days parts.  Oftentimes the price pushed 75% of the cost of a new unit.

If you decide to do this, then understand that it is NOT easy.  The biggest challenge is removing the stationary shredder (Waste King calls the “grind ring”).  It’s pressed in.  Sometimes – rust and crud assured its place in there TOO well.  SO, there’s no telling how difficult it might be to remove. 

I’ve popped a few of those out in a matter of minutes…and then had some which took me HOURS of frustration…and MANY applications of heat from a torch to remove.

I’ve never worked on a Waste King.  However, for all the others I repaired (In-Sink-Erator, Salvajor, Red Goat and others), the stationary shredder must come out in order to remove the rotating shredder (Waste King calls the “turntable assembly”).

Here’s you a parts manual:

http://download.partstown.com/is-bin/intershop.static/WFS/Reedy-PartsTown-Site/-/en_US/manuals/WAS-500_pm.pdf 

• fixbear

May 15, 2018 at 6:01 pm