Support / FAQs / About techtown

Home Forums Archives I have a frymaster fryer that blows out tje pilot when the burner cycles i have the manifold pressure at 3.5 inches wc

• I have a frymaster fryer that blows out tje pilot when the burner cycles i have the manifold pressure at 3.5 inches wc

Posted by guest on April 4, 2017 at 12:00 am

any ideas

ectofix replied 7 years ago 1 Member · 2 Replies
  • 2 Replies

April 13, 2017 at 8:33 am

you may find you pipe sizing is too small to allow the volume of gas through to the main burner vto light correctly. This can be caused by having to large a load requirement on your pipe system, too small a gas metewr or regulator to pass enough gas.

Most gasfitting manuals have pipe sizing tables as well recommended pipe size for the type of appliance. Read appliance rating plate to determine the gas usage in mj. then calculate the pressure and pressure drops for bends or tees then calculate gas type pipe sise required. Also check your regulator pressure before main burner and at burner head test point.  good luck

• ectofix

April 13, 2017 at 5:49 pm

As said here over and over…and over again, “A model number sure would help us – help you.”

I’ll proceed under the assumption that your fryer has been in place and working properly for awhile – so the building’s gas lines aren’t an immediate concern just yet.  That certainly is an important factor, but I would look at the actual fryer FIRST.

Also, I’ll assume that nobody has tampered with the pilot adjuster screw in the gas valve.

NOW…I’m gonna take a guess that your Frymaster has a target burner like in this Youtube video I made awhile back:

Target burner

On these fryers, there’s a standing pilot.  That pilot performs two functions:

1. The pilot flame heats a thermopile