Support / FAQs / About techtown

Home Forums General Lincoln 1046 Heating but not Cooking

Tagged: 

• Lincoln 1046 Heating but not Cooking

Posted by Billyo on November 29, 2023 at 6:10 am

Hi All, this is my first time here as I just joined up.

My background is as an electrician, then a Xerox centralised printer tech, then I got into cutting and programming auto keys.

The reason for my post is I also buy and sell electrical equipment and I had a guy by the name of Ami come around to look at a Pizza Oven I have for sale but as it turned out, it wasn’t what he was after as it was a countertop model and too small for his needs.

Ami owns a pizza shop and he was after another machine because his Lincoln 1046 had stopped working after he had a technician come out to look at it due to an intermittent problem where it would stop heating.

The tech that came out spent around two hours there with an apprentice watching on and eventually finished and tested the oven (which was working when he arrived, by the way) and a pizza went through and cooked okay.

However, his diagnosis was that the machine needed a pressure switch and an ignition pack.

He then charged Ami for 5 hours labour to diagnose the problem.

When Ami asked why it was 5 hours, the tech (who is also the owner of the repair business) told him it was two and a half hours for him and the same for his apprentice (who had for the entire time just stood and watched her employer) and he charged Ami $550 for the diagnosis.

Ami needed the machine to be working so he paid the full amount immediately and asked the tech to get the parts and bring them back asap.

The tech did not return.

I know all this because Ami showed me the back and forth text messages where the tech basically said he wouldn’t be coming back because he couldn’t be sure that he would get paid even though Ami had paid him immediately for this visit and paid him on previous occasions when Ami had him out to do services on his oven.