Support / FAQs / About techtown

Home Forums I have a Hobart Slicer Model 3813 need help with

• I have a Hobart Slicer Model 3813 need help with

Posted by guest on July 26, 2017 at 12:00 am

Hobart Model 3813 slicer issue.  I get a call that the slicer won’t turn on.  I check it out, 120VAC is at the GFI that it’s plugged into no backlight on the touchpad and won’t turn on. So I load it up and wheel it back to the shop to further investigate( I’m an in-house tech).  I plug it in and touchpad lights up and takes off without issue.  I opened it up and checked all the connections, safeties, water marks on PCB, and everything seems fine.  Wheel it back to the kitchen and put back in service.  Ran fine for a few days and then got the same call.  I did nothing except unplug it for a few minutes, plugged back in and took right off again.  No issues.  I took some amp readings- had about 12 amps inrush and about 3 amps while running.  

I’m suspecting the main PCB is “going” bad?  But to the tune of $600 – $700 for the board, i figured I would ask for help from some of you other techs.  

fixbear replied 6 years, 8 months ago 1 Member · 15 Replies
  • 15 Replies
  • izzygreen

July 26, 2017 at 7:53 am

I gather you’ve checked the membrane switch cover  to ensure it isn’t sticking; if so then yes the main board is failing.

Also take note that some models require the carriage to be at ‘home’ before allowing operation, while others will not engage until you open the gauge plate.

I imagine Hobart has a bunch of engineers that sit in a room and say how can we make this machine more complicated, and every few years they throw a new stupidity out there.

If you get me the ML number I can direct you to the proper parts page, but generally speaking a board for that unit shouldn’t be more than $400 give or take. for example SearchPage – Hobart eCommerce 

Good luck

• moldypickle

July 26, 2017 at 11:38 am